Skip to main content

Research in the Natural Areas

The Division of Natural Areas encourages researchers and scholars, both students and professional, to consider Maywoods, Lilley Cornett Woods, and Taylor Fork for your research, all forms of art, and other non-research projects. There are a wide variety of support opportunities and facilities at each of our Natural Areas. For more information, contact the Director, Dr. Stephen Richter.

Funding for EKU and non-EKU student research, all forms of art, and other non-research projects at any of the three natural areas is available through the Student Grant-in-Aid Program.

Additionally, the Division administers the Paul John Kalisz Conservation Award. This award is available to rising sophomores, juniors, and seniors of any major at EKU with at least a 3.25 GPA. Click the link for details!

In order to conduct research at any of the sites, a proposal must be submitted, prior to the research, to the Director.  If the research requires the collection of living or nonliving specimens, the proposal should state this.  If approved, a collecting permit will be issued with specific guidelines regarding collection and deposition of specimens.  Otherwise, collection of living and nonliving specimens is prohibited.

 In the proposal, include the following:

  • Introduction and Rationale
  • Statement of Objectives
  • Methodology
  • Plan for Dissemination
  • Literature Cited


  1. Submit the completed proposal.
  2. Proposal review by the Division of Natural Areas Research Committee.
  3. Committee's decision notification.
  4. Upon proposal acceptance, contact the appropriate natural areas manager for a site visit.

Reporting Requirements:

  1. A final report is due within one year of project completion.
  2. Submit citations and abstracts for any presentations given.
  3. Submit a copy of any accepted manuscript for publication. Published research is assigned a contribution number that we ask be included in the Acknowledgments.
  4. Submit published PDF reprint.
  5. Final report and all submissions should be sent to the Director

For further information:

Dr. Stephen Richter
Division of Natural Areas
3106 New Science Building

    Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/